REKINDLING THE DEKINDLED

It’s been two years since I’ve read White Wolf Moon from beginning to end. Occasionally I’ve had to go back and read selected passages to ensure I don’t contradict anything with the new book but generally I haven’t spent a lot of time with the original story.

For reasons that will hopefully soon become clear I have spent the last five days going over that old story word by word and finding a few minor things that I had missed. Fortunately there weren’t that many. When I finally finished the read-through a light came on. I realized why I’ve been having some issues with the new story. It’s all about flow and while White Wolf Moon was a veritable stew of different thoughts, approaches, and styles it came together nicely. This one hasn’t.

I’ve known for a while that something was wrong or missing but it took going back and starting over at page one of WWM to make me understand what it was. I wanted the second book, although a sequel, to be able to stand alone which required that an introduction to the characters and basic story-line of the first book be included. I’m pleased with how I managed to accomplish this but upon re-reading the original story I realized that the bond between the characters wasn’t as evident as it should be this time around. I also noticed that while I prefer to let the characters and dialogue drive the story line I used far more narrative in the first book than I have in the second. The narrative is what gave it the flow and that flow was missing in what I’m writing now.

I think this demonstrates my previous post about occasionally “going back” and starting over. The process of getting a book out there is one of learning and I learned so much over those two years. While I appreciate and will utilize this knowledge it’s important to look at writing the way I did back then and see it through less educated eyes.

For me White Wolf Moon was magic, from writing that first rough draft to holding that finished hardcover in my hands. It was fresh, new, and exciting. Going back through it has rekindled that magic and I’ve found myself spending up to ten hours a day at the laptop rereading the old and reworking the new. I also find myself exhausted by the end of the day (which goes by all too quickly) but it’s a good exhaustion.

Two years ago, in my delusionary euphoric state after the initial publication, I decided I should make this a trilogy. I have since reversed that decision. While a few Ginn fans might be upset, I’ve decided that after this I want to move into another area although I’m not yet certain what that will be. There’s still a lot to be done on my current project but it’s not looking as formidable as it did a week ago.

The magic is back.251794_114200048731938_327331232_n

 

4 comments on “REKINDLING THE DEKINDLED

  1. sknicholls says:

    That’s good to hear. Kristen Lamb had an excellent post about newbie to master recently. Here’s the link if you didn’t catch it:
    http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/2014/11/03/the-three-acts-of-a-writers-journey-from-newbie-to-master/
    Rereading my first book reminds me of that passion with which I want to write. The pace, the flow that comes pounding out from the heart. I’m learning a lot since I published that book, and all the rules can be daunting…but I hope I can do like Kristen says, and move through my apprentice phases without losing my spirit.

    • Mike Grant says:

      I’m in that apprentice stage as well. Thanks for the link…I’m following Kristen now. There’s a lot of great info to absorb there. The one thing that struck me is something I’ve finally recognized and, as simple as it seems, getting started is the tough part. Once I get past those first few words it becomes easy.

  2. IrishReader says:

    This is going on my to-buy list, I should have it before the weekend gets here! I look forward to reading it!

Leave a Reply

