HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!

pic

WordPress just congratulated me on my first anniversary with this blog. It seems longer than that somehow although I don’t know why. Perhaps it’s that I relate this to the release of “White Wolf Moon” and the process of getting the book into print took much longer than I had expected (it’s the old first-time learning experience thing). It seems like I have been living with that book forever but it too has only been out there for a year.

I remember when Friesen Press first suggested I have a blog. Panic and uncertainty set in but they dragged me backwards, kicking and screaming into this new world. This was the first promotional avenue to be traveled outside of my comfort zone. I’d already set up WWM on facebook but having a few years of experience with my personal page I was at least venturing into familiar territory…this blogging thing was uncharted terrain.

You’d think that after a year I’d have a handle on what I’m doing. I don’t.

Initially this blog was to be a “buy my book” vehicle but you can only say that so many times and in so many ways before it becomes hack ‘n crass. I started venturing “off-topic” and was pleasantly surprised at the positive reaction. A facebook friend (whom I have never met) has a wildlife/photography page and she rarely strays from that topic but she elected to voice an opinion on the current political situation in her country, America. Some people were downright rude with name-calling and the like and many ‘de-friended’ her. How dare she!! This wasn’t what they’d come to expect from her.

Rightly so she stood her ground. This is, after all, HER page and she can do with it whatever she wants.

Here is part of my long-winded comment on her page: “Living in Canada I’m in no position to really comment on the political climate or actions in the U.S. and will never do so but to those who are taking **** to task for the content on HER page…she, like all of us and like life, is more than a singular issue. I love the photography and stories but I will always read her opinions on those other issues. Some of them are admittedly pretty foreign to me but I respect her right and congratulate her on taking such an honest position…so few people do that these days. These ‘drifts’ from the expected content don’t take anything away from the great work she’s doing. I have a blog to promote a book I have written but I will on occasion use the forum to rant about the wolf situation or music, dust bunnies…whatever. It’s my blog and I can do with it what I wish and I have never had a complaint about anything I have written. I know some of my readers skip by those posts that they don’t find of interest and that’s their prerogative…I can’t please everybody all the time.”

Within twenty-four hours she had over 150 comments echoing what I had said.

I’ve tried to analyze what piques most readers interest but other than one (my post on ‘real book people’ that garnered 86 views in one day) most of my blogs seem to be quite balanced as to the number of hits, regardless of the topic. I think this is good?

Whatever…it’s still a learning experience. I’ve said my piece. Now it’s time to move on.

Like the sudden resurgence in downloads of “White Wolf Moon”, this blog anniversary is one of those little things that makes me feel good. The first book has far exceeded my expectations. This raises my spirits as I plow through finishing the second.

If all goes well with a little painting/restoration project I hope to finish up this afternoon, my next blog will also be off-topic. This one will be about thrift-shops and looking beyond the surface.

Having said all that…buy my book!

3 comments on “HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!

  1. Congratulations Mike on your first year of blogging – I’m not quite there yet, but not too far behind you 😉

  2. Congratulations on your one year anniversary. I am going through a similar experience promoting my debut novel. My blog has morphed into a more tongue-in-cheek approach rather than a sales pitch. Although I still pitch from time to time. In fact I think I will do it now. Read my mystery thriller “The Floating Man.” Please. Thank you and keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

