EXQUISITE PHRASEOLOGY

blogsign

I’m just over halfway through the rough draft of my “White Wolf Moon” sequel. I had originally set the end of April as a goal but life happens and that became unreasonable so I moved it to the end of May. It seems I’m on track. At this point it’s a combination prequel/sequel although I’m still not sure how it’s all going to fit together. I decided to step back from the writing and read, from beginning to end, what I’d put down so far. As well as an overall reading to see how it flowed and checking for time-line glitches I was looking for specifics.

A quick aside…after a few weeks of calm on the sales front I’ve had a couple of downloads over the last couple of days. If it follows the usual course there should be a few more in a week or so but I’ll have to wait and see. Not-so-aside…last night I met one of the people that downloaded one of these copies. She and her friend became acquaintances of ours due to her son and our daughter developing a relationship. I had been told earlier that she has a background in English Literature and was an intense reader so my heart was beating fairly quickly when she started telling me what she thought of my book. She began reading it on Monday so she isn’t too far into it yet but said she was thoroughly enjoying my “exquisite phraseology”. It’s because of interesting comments like this I am re-reading not only the sequel but also the parts of “White Wolf Moon” that she referenced.

Technically I’m certainly not the most conscientious writer. I try to be more precise on narrative but I love dialogue and I love typing it as people would say it. My dialogue tends to be scattered, filled with a few “ums” and “ahs” and many…ellipses. I write the words the way I hear them and I think it comes across in the final product. In fact that’s one of the common comments I’ve received about the book…“The dialogue feels so real, like I’m eaves-dropping…”

Another lady, an English teacher, told me that she found something refreshing about reading naive authors and my book was one of the most enjoyable she had read. Once I figured out what she meant I was flattered but determined to “beef up” the sequel, to hone the words a little more and try to add a bit of polish, especially to the narrative. The dialogue though will forever remain scattered, imperfect, and… naive. It’s the way I talk, it’s the way everyone I know talks, and it’s the way my characters talk.

So now to the point. As I read the sequel I realize that I have made strides in the narrative. It reads far more sophisticated than the original book. I don’t know if this is a good thing but it feels good to me. This whole endeavor has been a learning experience and one that I kind of wish I’d done with something other than “White Wolf Moon”. I put my baby out there and I now realize that I could have done so much more with it. It isn’t that I’m not happy with the way things have gone it’s just now I see so many areas where a little polish would have made a big difference.

But that’s yesterday. All I can do now is take what I’ve learned and pack it into the sequel…starting with a name. I’m still not sure what to call it but I imagine it’ll jump out at me in the same way the original title did…a dropped line in some improvised dialogue.

From White Wolf Moon (2012): Jenn looked back at Evan. She was feeling more at ease now than ever before. This in itself was troubling. “You couldn’t have picked a new moon to streak?” she asked.

“I don’t have the energy to streak anymore, I can barely waddle.” He glanced quickly about the room. “You’re right; it is pretty bright in here. There’s nothing like lunar lighting…or reflection, to be more accurate. Quite calming, don’t you think?”

“Uh huh.”

“Saturday night it’ll be full. A white-wolf moon.”

“Which is?”

“It is said that those who witness the howling of the great white wolf when the moon is full and high shall be blessed with an abundance of love and harvest.”

“Old legend?”

“I think I just made it up. Ginn sometimes goes a little nutty at full moon though.”

“Oh…she runs around in a state of not dressedness too?”

“Not dressedness? Interesting.”

 

 

4 comments on “EXQUISITE PHRASEOLOGY

  1. JP McLean says:

    Your comments resonate – as usual. This writing habit is such an unexpected learning experience. And such fun.

    • Mike Grant says:

      Thank-you…I forgot to mention the fun aspect…I so love leaving this ‘real’ world that has such demands on me and venturing into the world of my characters. It’s sometimes pretty tough to come back though.

  2. Bea De Neef says:

    Patiently awaiting…

    • Mike Grant says:

      I’m dancing as fast as I can!!! Seriously, I’m beginning to find I’m reading this draft more as a story than as a piece of work I should be scrutinizing. I must discipline myself to keep on task at least until the draft is done.

Leave a Reply

