The Next Big Thing

Okay…now this is really cool!

Author Casey Voight nominated me in The Next Big Thing blog hop and I’m flattered. I also want to thank her for forcing me to extend my learning curve when it comes to blogging.

bigthing

The Next Big Thing is part interview and part award, consisting of a series of questions about a writer’s latest work and how it came to be. I’ve referred back to “White Wolf Moon” for some of the answers as the sequel is only 10,000 words completed (with a further 9,000 in my working folder) and the main thrust is similar in content to the first book. Now the questions:

What is the working title of your book?

White Wolf Moon Two? How original! That’s how it’s saved on my laptop but I shall come up with something else later. Due to some of the content which follows the central characters on promo tours, camping, and the like “On the Road” would be a really good title but some guy already used it a while back so….

What genre does your book fall under?

White Wolf Moon has been labeled so many different ways including romance but, like the sequel, it is really humorous general fiction with a pinch of biographical reality.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

One sentence?? Well…(takes deep breath)…picking up two weeks after White Wolf Moon left off Evan and Danny take a road trip and busk for s’mores and beers at campgrounds in the surrounding area all the time rekindling their life-long bond and reminiscing about the old tours they did as rockers and folkies in the Sixties while their patient and understanding wives stay home to appreciate the quiet and to debate the questionable merits of keeping them around until being called upon to entertain Evan’s ex-girlfriend Claire, her husband, and daughter Jenn, ’til the boys are back in town and Evan comes face-to-face with Devon (Claire’s husband) for the first time, creating an atmosphere of…I don’t know I haven’t written that scene yet (whew!!).

Where did you get the idea for your book?

The idea for the original book had nothing to do with publishing. It was intended as a diary of sorts, a collection of factual stories about my past that I could give to my kids. It occurred to me that they really didn’t know much about my life before they came along and a short-run memoir-style book would introduce them to who I was “back then”. As I am fortunate to have two of the people from those days as current facebook friends (who are also the basis for characters in the book) I sent them a copy to get their opinion. They both thought it should be published (secretly so did I) so with a lot of re-writing and some name-changing White Wolf Moon was born.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

The inspiration for the sequel has come mostly through the reaction of people that have read White Wolf Moon. They provided me with some interesting questions and really great comments both pro and con. You can only hear “When’s the next one coming out?” so many times before you realize there should be a next one.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

The original White Wolf Moon took two years to get to draft completion then approximately another year of tweaking/re-writing but I hadn’t intended on publishing it so it wasn’t a daily exercise. This time around I’m more dedicated to completing that first draft and I believe it will be done within six months.

What other books would you compare this story with in your genre?

This is a tough question. When I did the market research prior to publishing White Wolf Moon I found no other books exactly like it. Not to say there aren’t any (surely there must be) but I could only find titles that were comparable to specific elements of the story. One reader described White Wolf Moon as “The Big Chill meets Tom Robbins” which is about the best description I’ve heard. The sequel features the same characters and is currently leaning more toward the relationships and histories of the central characters.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Oh wow…the dream team. Some of these actors are those that I pictured while working on the original book.

EVAN MORRIS:  Jeff Bridges. Evan is a blend of “The Dude” and “Bad” and having been a Jeff Bridges fan forever there is really no other choice.

MARIE MORRIS: Lindsay Wagner. Evan even refers to Marie as “Jaime” in one scene.

CLAIRE MacAVOY: Diane Keaton…no question.

JENNIFER MacAVOY: The tough one here. Jenn is a got-it-all-together twenty year-old, perky, Kaley Cuoco type of girl. Even at twenty-seven Kaley could easily carry it off.

DANNY MANN: Dennis Hopper although now he has passed, I’m not sure. Any suggestions?

GINN (the white wolf-cross): There’s a Samoyed down the street….

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I will probably drive the self-publishing road again. It has been (and still is) an incredible learning experience and it just makes sense to use the knowledge I’ve gained over the past year this time around. From the writing and publishing process, book-signings, media coverage, setting up a WWM facebook page, doing my own trailer and of course this blog…it has been an unbelievable adventure.

What else about your book might pique your reader’s interest?

As with White Wolf Moon the sequel will contain references to pop culture of the Sixties. I used them in place of dialogue to set a scene or describe an emotion. Movies, television programs, singers and their songs are dropped in throughout providing a little inter-activity for the reader if they choose to figure out the reference.

Finally I have to nominate five writers and bloggers whose pages I frequent for motivation, education, and sometimes for the simple joy of reading them. A lot of the people I follow are not writers and have no book in the works (that I can see), some are photographers, artists, reviewers and a couple have already been nominated…still, it was tough to narrow it down to five….

Gemma Rolleman

Shannon Thompson

Cheryl Moore

J.P. McLean

Candace Knoebel

So that’s it. Thank you for taking the time to read this. It’s been an interesting project.

In the words of Evan Morris: Love & Understanding…

Mike

One comment on “The Next Big Thing

  1. jpmclean1 says:

    Once again, thanks for the nomination, Mike. Here’s a link to my Next Big Thing post: http://wp.me/p2Cl9Z-2J

Leave a Reply

