JUST DO IT!

There was an interesting discussion at my book-signing last Saturday. A lady mentioned to me that her daughter has been thinking about writing a book for some time and I was asked for advice. I simply said to do it. Everyone has a book in them and they should get it down on paper (or laptop) whenever the spirit moves them. I also suggested not to wait until you’re sixty-five like me. A gentleman spoke up and said that he thought it was better to write at an older age because you have more life lessons under your belt and that experience could make what you write more significant to the reader.

Who’s right?

In “White Wolf Moon” it’s the experience of Evan Morris, the central character, that fuels the storyline. I draw on my experiences from the sixties (and up to today) to allow Evan to relate his philosophies on life. I’m not sure I could have written this is if I wasn’t sixty-five unless I’d done a lot of research and even then I don’t think I would have had the same slant on life in general. So concerning my book, that gentleman was right…but you have to keep in mind that “White Wolf Moon” relies heavily on my recounting real people and events in a fictional setting.

Fiction is imagination. As long as you have one you can create a story, poem, screenplay…whatever. If I was twenty-five now I couldn’t create something like I did to my satisfaction but I could perhaps write a sci-fi book. I’m sure that everyone has some pretty interesting characters around them and more than enough interesting situations to create a series of short stories or a full novel.

I have grandkids in the early grades in school. Their little one-page crayon stories are filled with boundless imagination and creativity and, while some of the stories don’t make sense to me, I see the value in allowing their imaginations to soar. Too soon their minds are cluttered with the realities of life and the more technical side of education.

It all begins with one sentence. Even if you’re not ready for prime-time the experience of creating your first story can only add experience to subsequent projects.

If you can think it, you can write it…at any age.

So that makes us both right and two rights can never be wrong.

2 comments on “JUST DO IT!

  1. Linda Dionne says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more! Once I started my first fiction novel, the words, colours, dimensions, actions all flowed through my fingers onto the computer screen. It had been a book in waiting for years. All it took was the bottom to get me started. I was so far down with sadness that I had to do something to lift me up. Writing my book got me out of that slump. Perhaps the topic in SILENT VICTIM was pretty deep, but the story turned out to be a good one. Everyone that has read it said it was “awesome”, so I too am working on a sequel!

    • grafixp2012 says:

      That’s the important thing…getting started. Over the years I’ve used writing as a kind of therapy. I’ve written a couple of pieces that no-one else will ever see but they’ve accomplished what I wanted them to do. They spelled it all out so that I could approach it with some critical distance. It’s amazing how much clearer things can be in the written word. I even use the characters in White Wolf Moon to help me look at things from a different perspective. It’s really quite uncanny how well it works. Good luck on the sequel and thank-you for posting this Linda.

Leave a Reply

